First Harvest

In December 2019, a colorful mix of fruit trees was planted on the unpaved part of our yard. Through this measure, the area should provide long-term food, shelter and shade for our collegues, insects, and birds. This year can now already look forward to the first harvest.

Heat conductivity and temperature diffusivity

For many years, the thermal conductivities of sediments have been calculated at FIELAX from the data of special temperature measurements. For many applications, however, the thermal diffusivity is also of interest. Together with the University of Bremen it was investigated how the calculation of thermal diffusivity from temperature data in addition to thermal conductivity can be achieved or improved. As a result of this project, which was supported by the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF), a scientific publication was produced, which is available at https://doi.org/10.1007/s13137-021-00183-1.

TRT measurements Off-/Near-/Onshore Holland – cooperation with Next Geosolutions and Marine Sampling Holland

Since December 2020 and ongoing, FIELAX provides thermal conductivity / thermal resistance measurements for cable routes for three wind zones in the Dutch North Sea to be connected by TenneT (offshore-energy.biz/tennet-picks-next-geosolutions-for-route-surveys-fugro-as-backup/). As a subcontractor to Next Geosolutions (nextgeosolutions.com), FIELAX conducts most of the surveys using our systems in combination with Next's Vibrocorer.

At shallow water depths / tidal flats / onshore, the VibroHeat method is not feasible. We are pleased to offer different adapted deployment methods with different geotechnical equipment in close cooperation with Marine Sampling Holland (marinesamplingholland.nl). Some nearshore and - so far - all onshore tests have been performed with the PushHeat system (a combination of a mini-CPT with a coiled thermal test rod; the picture shows one site on the beach on a stormy day). In 2021, we also expect to deploy downhole technology for onshore locations where a high-resolution TRT profile is required to depths greater than 10 meters. To reach these depths, multiple cycles of drilling/probing will be performed. More information on the methods and additional references can be found at www.fielax.de/en/what-is-heat-flow/.

Feasibility study: Knowledge database

The digitization of facts and figures is nothing new these days. "Soft knowledge" such as customer preferences or general experience values, on the other hand, is often only in the heads of individual people.

In the "Knowledge Database" project, a modular framework was created whose module scope is constantly growing due to increasing customer requirements and automates a large part of the backend programming. This enables FIELAX to offer a product with which small and medium-sized companies can securely archive "soft" data and make it usable.

This project was financially supported by the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF)

Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

A turbulent year is coming to an end and we would like to wish all customers and friends of FIELAX a reflective Christmas season and all the best for 2021. At the end of the year we are happy to be able to donate again to some organizations:

Afghan Women's Association (https://www.afghanischer-frauenverein.de/)DGzRS (https://www.seenotretter.de/)Tafel Bremerhaven (https://www.bremen.de/visitenkarte/bremerhavener-tafel-1932237)

Aufbereitung physikalische Ozeanographie FS ‚Heincke‘

Das Forschungsschiff HEINCKE des Das Alfred-Wegener-Instituts ist regelmäßig in der Nordsee und im Nordatlantik unterwegs. Hierbei wird während der Fahrt unter anderem kontinuierlich die Temperatur und der Salzgehalt des Seewassers gemessen. FIELAX bereitet diese Daten seit 2015 auf. Bisher konnten mehr als 220 Reisen (inkl. Aufarbeitung von Reisen seit 2009) über das Datenrepositorium Pangaea (https://www.pangaea.de/?q=heincke+tsg+) zur Verfügung gestellt werden. Weiterlesen

Erste Ernte

Im Dezember 2019 wurde auf dem entpflasterten Teil unseres Hofes eine bunte Mischung Obstbäume gepflanzt. Durch diese Maßnahme soll die Fläche langfristig Nahrung, Schutz und Schatten für MitarbeiterInnen, Insekten und Vögel bieten. Dieses Jahr kann nun schon der ersten Ernte entgegengefiebert werden.

Wärmeleitfähigkeit und Temperaturdiffusivität

Seit vielen Jahren werden bei FIELAX die thermischen Leitfähigkeiten von Sedimenten aus den Daten spezieller Temperaturmessungen berechnet. Für viele Anwendungen ist aber auch die Diffusivität der Temperatur interessant. Gemeinsam mit der Universität Bremen wurde untersucht, wie man die Berechnung eben dieser ebenfalls, zusätzlich zu der Wärmeleitfähigkeit, aus den Temperaturdaten bewerkstelligen bzw. verbessern könnte. Als ein Ergebis dieses Projektes, welches durch den Europäischer Fonds für regionale Entwicklung (EFRE) gefördert wurde, entstand eine wissenschaftliche Publikation, die unter https://doi.org/10.1007/s13137-021-00183-1 verfügbar ist.

TRT-Messungen für TenneT zusammen mit Next Geosolutions und Marine Sampling Holland

Seit Dezember 2020 und fortlaufend liefert FIELAX Messungen der Wärmeleitfähigkeit / des Wärmewiderstands für Kabeltrassen für drei Windzonen in der niederländischen Nordsee, die von TenneT angeschlossen werden sollen (offshore-energy.biz/tennet-picks-next-geosolutions-for-route-surveys-fugro-as-backup/). Die meisten Untersuchungen führt FIELAX als Unterauftragnehmer von Next Geosolutions (nextgeosolutions.com) mit unseren Systemen in Kombination mit dem Vibrocorer von Next durch.

Bei geringen Wassertiefen / Wattenmeer / Onshore ist die VibroHeat-Methode nicht durchführbar. Wir freuen uns, dass wir in enger Zusammenarbeit mit Marine Sampling Holland (marinesamplingholland.nl) verschiedene angepasste Einsatzmethoden mit unterschiedlichen geotechnischen Geäten anbieten können. Einige Nearshore- und - bis jetzt - alle Onshore-Tests wurden mit dem PushHeat-System (eine Kombination aus einer Mini-CPT mit einem aufgewickelten biegsamen Sensorstring; das Bild zeigt eine Messung am Strand an einem stürmischen Tag) durchgeführt. Wir gehen davon aus, dass wir 2021 auch die Bohrlochtechnologie für Onshore-Standorte einsetzen werden, bei denen ein hochauflösendes TRT-Profil bis in eine Tiefe von mehr als 10 m erforderlich ist. Um in diese Tiefen zu gelangen, werden mehrere Zyklen von Bohrungen/Sondierungen durchgeführt. Mehr Informationen zu den Methoden und weitere Referenzen finden Sie unter https://www.fielax.de/de/was-ist-waermestrom/.